Judicial Leaders

Nauman Smith Shissler & Hall has a long history of producing judicial leaders dating back to 1881 when founder, Wayne MacVeagh, was appointed U.S. Attorney General by President Garfield.  Since then, four of the firm’s attorneys have been either elected or appointed to the bench.

Nauman Smith has produced four judges including John B. McPherson, appointed to the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Third Circuit by President Taft in 1912, J.E.B. Cunningham, appointed to the Superior Court of Pennsylvania in 1925, and James S. Bowman, appointed first President Judge of the Commonwealth Court of Pennsylvania in 1970. Nauman Smith’s first female attorney, Jeannine Turgeon, was elected to the Dauphin County Court of Common Pleas in 1991.  Jeannine Turgeon was the first female judge of the Court of Common Pleas of Dauphin County. She remains at that post today.

Subscribe to our Newsletter